Printing Photographs

For the submission I intended to print a series of my photographs to develop my printing skills and to get a better understanding of how the paper can differentiate the look of the image.

I printed the referenced image first on Hahnemule photo rag paper, this led to the photo coming out very flat, with the definitions in the blacks being reduced, although I initially felt that the texture of the paper would add to the naturalness of the connotations of the image, the result was that it distorted the aesthetic style of the photograph too much by reducing the blacks in it.

So I proceeded to print the remaining photographs on the gloss paper, where the blacks were much better preserved, and my photograph was visibly more similar to that on the digital screen.

Leave a comment